DRC Forum | Register | Log in | Forum help | Search

Anyone use VMWare Workstation?

DRC Forum
» Personal Interests
    » Computers
        » Anyone use VMWare Workstation?
            » Page 1 of 1

|DRC| psycheus

Thursday, June 3 2010, 13:10:20 #42978     Anyone use VMWare Workstation?

http://communities.vmware.com/thread/270972

I'm having problems with the HDD constantly cycling. It's very annoying.

VMWare Workstation 7.1: HDD Constantly Cycling posted: Jun 3, 2010 10:05 AM

Hello,

I've been using VMWare workstation for about 8 months now and like it very much. However there is something that has been bothering me about the HDD IO and performance. The HDD is constantly cycling ever 2 out of 3 seconds. I'm guessing this isn't going to make this HDD last very long but I also want to improve the performace of my VM. Here's where I'm at..

System: Dell Laptop Lattitude D830 w/ 4 GB Ram (only 3.5 register in Windows 32 Bit), 500 GB 7200 RPM HDD, Running Windows XP SP3 (Host & Guest).
Memory Allocation: 1536 to VM.

Host System: Turned off all unnecessary Windows stuff like effects, system restore tried optimizing the pagefile. Disabled services that are unessasary

VM (Guest OS) System: I always run in full screen mode. The VM is on a separate partition of the HDD (D: drive.). Also turned off memory trimming, page sharing, disabled file sharing, added VMWare to Avast AV Software to not scan (on host), there is no AV on VM. Shrank the VM HDD.

Here are some links of info I found:
http://virtualization.info/en/news/2005/11/how-to-improve-disk-io-performances.html
http://www.vmware.com/support/ws4/doc/performance_guest_ws.html#1012581
http://www.vmware.com/support/ws5/doc/ws_disk_shrink.html